Critical Summary of Hawks Monologue

Critical Summary of Hawks Monologue: Hawk’s Monologue, the poem, is written by Ted Hughes. He is a wonderful poet.

Ted Hughes, using the persona of a wild bird, discusses the psychology and cruel nature of the power drunk. A man in power is on top of all affairs. He says his “eyes are closed”. He is indifferent. He is careless. He is playing the game of life even while dreaming, called “rehearse” to kill.

Nature or Fate, has provided him the “convenience of high trees”; trees resemble high status and position. Things are favorable for him to rule. He claims the earth is has opened it for him to prey. All is made for him.

Power often corrupts man. He is very proud. He believes his “feet are locked upon” the position he holds. No one can remove him. He is the most important among creation. He is the most superior. Therefore, ironically, he seems right in saying “now I hold creation in my foot”. He is contemptuous of the creation except himself.

“Allotment of death” is his right. He may pierce the bones of the living. Nobody can argue over his right. His superior position and the power he holds are backed up by some design of nature.

He has a firm belief that the source of life and power “is behind” him. His power remains unchallenged since he began. He has not permitted any change. Captured in the illusion of his pride and power, he is confident that he is “going to keep things like this”.

History is evident that man becomes blind to his faults and errors while in power. He holds people in contempt. He crushes the rules and regulations under his feet. He is above law.

Further Reading & References beyond Critical Summary of Hawks Monologue:

  1. Poetry
  2. BA English Notes
  3. Text of the Poem, Hawk’s Monologue.
  4. Leisure Full Text.
  5. Tartary
  6. New Year Resolutions
  7. Woman Work
  8. Rebel
  9. The Huntsman
  10. All the Worlds a Stage
  11. Solitary Reaper – Summary
  12. Solitary Reaper Text
  13. One Art
  14. Departure and Arrival – Summary
  15. Departure and Arrival – Text
  16. After Apple Picking – Summary
  17. After Apple Picking – Themes
  18. After Apple Picking – Text
  19. Lights Out
  20. Because I Could not Stop for Death
  21. Hawks Monologue
  22. When I have Fears
  23. Kubla Khan

Feel Free to give your feedback to this Critical Summary of Hawks Monologue.

Leave a Reply